Villarreal needed a win to be sure of European football next season

Barcelona ended their season with a home defeat against Villarreal as they finished on their lowest La Liga points total in 14 years.

Villarreal, this season’s Champions League semi-finalists, booked a Europa Conference League spot with their victory in the Nou Camp.

Alfonso Pedraza ran onto Dani Parejo’s pass to give them the lead.

Moi Gomez made it 2-0 after a terrible pass across his own box by Barcelona’s on-loan winger Adama Traore.

Frenkie de Jong thought he had pulled one back but his header was disallowed for offside.

Barca finish second on 73 points, 13 behind champions Real Madrid, and without a trophy. Results picked up after Xavi replaced Ronald Koeman as manager but they were too far behind to compete.

The last time they got fewer points was in 2007-08, when they finished third on 67 points.

Elsewhere, fourth-placed Sevilla won 1-0 against Athletic Bilbao, who miss out on European football next season.

Atletico Madrid, who finished third, won 2-1 at sixth-placed Real Sociedad.



Formation 4-3-3

  • 1ter Stegen
  • 8Alves da SilvaSubstituted forMinguezaat 81′minutes
  • 4Araújo
  • 15Lenglet
  • 18AlbaBooked at 65mins
  • 21de Jong
  • 5BusquetsBooked at 59mins
  • 30PáezBooked at 45minsSubstituted forPuig Martíat 71′minutes
  • 11TraoréSubstituted forDembéléat 57′minutes
  • 25AubameyangSubstituted forFati Vieiraat 57′minutes
  • 19TorresSubstituted forDepayat 71′minutes


  • 6Puig Martí
  • 7Dembélé
  • 9Depay
  • 10Fati Vieira
  • 12Braithwaite
  • 17de Jong
  • 22Mingueza
  • 23Umtiti
  • 27Carevic
  • 31Balde Martínez
  • 36Tenas
  • 43Orellana Gómez


Formation 4-4-2

  • 13Rulli
  • 2Pérez MartínezSubstituted forJacksonat 67′minutes
  • 3Albiol
  • 4Torres
  • 24PedrazaSubstituted forPeñaat 83′minutes
  • 23Gómez BardonadoSubstituted forChukwuezeat 83′minutes
  • 6Capoue
  • 5ParejoBooked at 45mins
  • 14Trigueros MuñozSubstituted forAurierat 67′minutes
  • 17Lo Celso
  • 9AlcácerSubstituted forEstupiñánat 67′minutes


  • 1Asenjo
  • 7Moreno
  • 10Iborra
  • 11Chukwueze
  • 12Estupiñán
  • 16Dia
  • 20Peña
  • 22Mandi
  • 25Aurier
  • 26Jackson
  • 31Álvarez de Eulate Molne

José Luis Munuera Montero


Live Text

Around the BBC iPlayer bannerAround the BBC iPlayer footer

Source link